John Browne back at Baldwin

Due to a conflict with the Provincial Grand Chapter convocation Baldwin Lodge No 1398 installation meeting moved from its traditional Wednesday date to a Friday. On this occasion it was decided to hold both the ceremony and installation banquet at Barrow in Furness Masonic Hall.

The principal guest was group chairman Peter Schofield. Peter was accompanied on his formal procession into the lodge by fellow grand officers Rowley Saunders and Barrie Crossley. Adding further lustre to the entrance were group vice-chairman Gary Rogerson along with acting Provincial officers, Alan Hilton, Terry Tidal and David Ingham. They were able to observe Carl Hallows install John Browne as his successor in goodly fashion.

It is John’s second visit to the principal chair of the lodge having volunteered to fill a gap in the succession planning process. Others played their part in making the ceremony such an enjoyable one. Graham Slater delivered the address to the newly installed master in his own inimitable style. Bill Coates undertook the address to the wardens whilst Peter was called upon to orate the address to the Brethren. Receiving particular praise for their part in the proceedings were junior Brethren Martin Mc Fall, Allan Whittaker and Brett Newnham who presented and explained, respectively the tools of the third, second and first degrees.

To mark the occasion John presented Peter with two cheques. The first was in favour of the MCF2021 Festival in the sum of £900 whilst the other, in what has become a tradition of Baldwin Lodge,was for £100 towards the parish church Christmas Tree Festival. Following the formalities of the ritual 93 members and their guests enjoyed a very tasty four course meal in the Fairfield Suite.
















Pictured from left to right, are; Peter Schofield, Carl Hallows and John Browne.


















Pictured from left to right, are; David Ingham, Rowly Saunders, Gary Rogerson, Barrie Crossley,Alan Hilton and Terry Ridal.


















Pictured from left to right, are; Brett Newsham, Martin McFall and Allan Whittaker.

















Pictured from left to right, are; Dan Forristal, John Browne, Carl Hallows, Brett Newsham andMartin McFall.